GOLF: Open player field finalized

The Open’s 132-player field has been finalized, and all that’s left to do is play golf. The wait for that is about over as the PGA Tour tournament makes its way to San Martin this week.

The Pro-Am portion of the Tour stops weeklong stay is Wednesday with morning and afternoon tee times set. Featured professionals scheduled to participate in the Pro-Am round include, 2012 British Open champion Ernie Els and European Ryder Cup team member Nicolas Colsaerts at 8:10 a.m., defending Open champion Bryce Molder at 8:40 a.m., Vijay Singh at 8:50 a.m., United States Ryder Cup captain Davis Love III at 11:40 am, former Masters Champion Trevor Immelman at 12:40 p.m. and former British Open champion Justin Leonard at 1:10 p.m.

On Monday, tournament director Jeff Sanchez awarded the last two sponsor exemptions to 2011 U.S. Amateur champion Kelly Kraft and 2009 NCAA champion Matt Hill, who recently earned Canadian Tour Rookie of the Year.

Open qualifying for this week’s tournament was held at Bayonet Golf Course in Seaside on Monday, where the final four spots into the field were up for grabs. Marc Turnesa and Craig Barlow tied for medalist honors with the low round of 67, and Derek Ernst scored 68. Matt Marshall won a six-way playoff among Michael Jensen, Brandon Harkins, Jordan Cox, Ronald Monaco and Gregor Main at 69 for the final spot.

Leave your comments