Gavilan board supports district changes

Gavilan College President Steve Kinsella speaks during the grand opening for the Gavilan College Veterans Resource Center Nov. 4, 2014.

Gavilan College trustees have supported making changes to the way voters elect them, a trustee confirmed.
Community college district trustees voted 7-0 at last week’s board meeting in support of a proposal to have seven distinct voting districts in place by the November 2016 election, Trustee Walt Gllines confirmed by email. Currently, voters elect three trustees at-large from the Hollister area, two from Gilroy and two from Morgan Hill.
Trustees briefly discussed the item, and no one from the public spoke at the Gavilan board meeting last week, Glines confirmed.
Gavilan officials are making the move in response to the California Voting Rights Act requiring fair representation of all protected minority communities. There have been similar cases locally.
The San Benito Health Care District in late March voted in favor of moving to voting districts—and away from an at-large process—largely duplicating the geographic makeup of San Benito County board districts.
This is a developing story.
Gavilan Trustees
Hollister: Tom Breen, Kent Child, Lois Locci
Gilroy: Walt Glines, Mark Dover
Morgan Hill: Laura Perry, Jonathan Brusco

Leave your comments