Baler Roundup: Lacrosse team earns signature win

The Baler lacrosse team, seen here in action earlier this season against Leland, dropped a 18-9 decision to RLS Thursday after winning back-to-back contests in just their second year as a program.

Tyler Benedetti scored five goals, Jason White had two and Cameron Last one as the San Benito High lacrosse team earned its first win of the season, 8-6 over visiting Leland on Thursday. The Haybalers won two games in their inaugural season last year, one by forfeit.
The team’s lone victory on the field in 2015 came two months into the season. The Balers didn’t have to wait nearly as long this year. Displaying superior skills and discipline from a year ago, San Benito received solid play all the way around. Goalie Kane DeAlba had a superb match, making several nice saves.
San Benito took second behind Palma in a Monterey Bay League six-team match. The Balers finished with a score of 216 to the Chieftains’ low score of 193 at Gilroy Golf Course, a par 35. Palma’s Joey Burlison was the medalist with a 35. The Balers’ Brad Sparrer shot a 38, Grant Bernosky 39, Nick Wells 45, Adam Gonzales 46 and Ricardo Garcia 48.
San Benito edged North Salinas 4-3 on the strength of its top three singles players: Chris Godbout at No. 1, Sean McConnell at No. 2 and Jack Stegeman at No. 3 singles. The trio picked up victories, as did the Balers’ No. 2 doubles team of Daniel Bernal and Alex Ramirez, who cruised in straight sets.

Leave your comments