San Benito alum earns top honor

San Benito High School 2018 graduate Rolando Pablo Lorenzo was back on campus Dec. 13 to receive his “Every Student Succeeding” award from the Association of California School Administrators.

Superintendent Shawn Tennenbaum presented the award to Lorenzo, who was honored by Baler staff, administrators and teachers during a ceremony in the district meeting room.

Not knowing a word of English upon his arrival in San Benito County from Guatemala on his own at age 14, he was placed in an English Language Development class offered by the SBHS Migrant Program’s evening summer school program prior to starting ninth grade.

With the help of his teachers, tutorials and guidance from the SBHS Migrant Education Program staff, Lorenzo finished his first year of high school with a 3.5 GPA.

Throughout high school, from which he graduated with honors, he worked full time, carried a full academic load, taking seven classes some semesters, and attended evening summer school classes.

Lorenzo is attending Gavilan College and has plans to become a lawyer.

Donation for Life Skills

Michelle Van De Mark and Cindy Jordan presented the San Benito High School Life Skills Department with a check for $7,443 on Dec. 14,  in memory of Nathan Van De Mark, a 2017 Baler alumnus who passed away last December.

The check was directed to benefit programs for “Nathan’s Buddies,” as Nathan was a peer helper with the Life Skills program while a student at SBHS.

County board members take oath

New San Benito County Office of Education board members Joan Campbell-Garcia and Reb Monaco took the oath of office Dec. 12, when they were sworn in prior to the board meeting.

Campbell-Garcia, in District 3, and Monaco, in District 4, both ran unopposed. Campbell-Garcia has served on the county board since 2000, including as board president.

Monaco, 74, a retired schoolteacher who spent 32 years with the Hollister School District, is a first-term board member. They join current board members Guadalupe Candelaria (District 2), Mary Anne Filice (District 1) and Patricia Ward (District 5). County board responsibilities include budget approval, policy development, expulsion appeals, interdistrict attendance appeals, credential registration, instructional material adoption and program acceptance for state and federal projects.

Leave your comments